MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Creating a varnish and gold foil on packaging

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Noel Van Ster
Creating a varnish and gold foil on packaging
on Dec 3, 2018 at 8:18:45 pm

Hi

I am new to C4D and am trying to create to textures on a packaging. One is a gold foil texture on a packaging. The other is a varnish onto selected elements of the packaging separate to the foiling. I've tried a couple of methods on the foiling from hdri images on the texture map to a lumas texture on the luminance channel. This was so far my best attempt but I am still looking for a better gloss/gold contrast which I am not exactly getting.

My other problem is adding a varnish. I've tried an alpha channel with various combinations of the other channels but the alpha channel seems to always transpose as black when I lower the opacity of the other channels. I've even tried creating the varnish as a polygon with a transparency and projected this on the packaging but that also is not working.

Please can someone give me a few more suggestions. I would really appreciate it. I am working in R16 too.

Thanks in advance.

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
Re: Creating a varnish and gold foil on packaging
on Dec 3, 2018 at 8:24:50 pm

what version of C4D?

Return to posts index

Noel Van Ster
on Dec 3, 2018 at 9:00:22 pm

Hi

I'm on version Studio R16.

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
on Dec 3, 2018 at 9:52:30 pm

so you do have the reflectance channel, that will make it possible to add the varnish by adding another reflectance layer and limiting it's area with the Layer Mask inside that new layer. As for the gold foil perhaps it will be the same sort of thing. It would be useful to see a reference image of what you are going for at least.

Return to posts index

Noel Van Ster
on Dec 4, 2018 at 9:09:45 am

Hi Brian