MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Thinking Particles Problem

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ashley Seibert
Thinking Particles Problem
on Oct 24, 2018 at 2:48:49 pm

Hello,

I'm a self taught 3D animator and the company I work for wants me to develop an animation where a rock slurry is introduced into a water filled tank. Some of the slurry will float to the top and the rest sink to the bottom, gather, and then empty when a valve is open.

I have been using Thinking Particles and Xpresso to animate rather than a plain emitter because I needed to control the speed of the particles (the basic emitter was too fast for my boss's liking). The problem I am having is the gathering of the particles at the bottom of the tank. I am using a deflector object in the shape of the tank to hold the particles. I have a small bounce on the deflector (20%). They do collect but they kind of just linger and disappear. I need them to gather and then fall out as if gravity is pulling them out of the tank. Any ideas or tips would be helpful because I am drawing a complete blank.

I realize that XParticles would be the way to go to fully control the particles but my boss will not approve the purchase so I am stuck with vanilla C4D R20.

Thanks,
Ashley

Return to posts index

Steve Bentley
Re: Thinking Particles Problem
on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:04:25 pm

A couple of approaches:
You can use multiple particle systems (the plain old emitter with force objects can get you pretty close to Xpresso and Thinking Particles but true, you have much more control with TP). Use one system for the floaters and one for the sinkers. You can assign different gravity to each (Oh and make sure to turn your global gravity off in the project settings so it doesn't come in to play and fight your gravity objects).