MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

C4D soft body doesn't interact with surroundings

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Clemence Plagnard
C4D soft body doesn't interact with surroundings
on Jun 22, 2018 at 3:35:47 pm

Hello Everyone !

I’m relatively new to C4D and I’m having issues with the soft body tag.
I am trying to simulate melted glass being poured into a brass mold (so I have a soft object and a rigid object) to study the emprunt its going to produce on the glass. (I want to reproduce something like this tutorial but with other material properties and shapes : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bX_f3ue3wZg)
But impossible to have to soft body deform next to my mold. The collision tool is giving some results, but not satisfying…

Can anyone have a look at my file and tell me what I am doing wrong ? Or lead me to another solution ?

Thank you !

12472_simulationcolitionmouleverre.c4d.zip

Return to posts index

Steve Bentley
Re: C4D soft body doesn't interact with surroundings
on Jun 22, 2018 at 7:38:58 pm

Still playing with it but doesn't the sphere have to be made editable so the collider as some polys to play with?

Return to posts index

Steve Bentley
on Jun 22, 2018 at 7:48:57 pm

You might also want to connect all your sub objects of your collider object - less to calculate.
But the biggest issue might be the scale. I started from scratch, used a soft body and collider tags on the sphere and mold respectively, backed the sphere away from the collider and before I had even moved it toward the collider the sphere was already splaying out. There's a reason C4D creates spheres with a default 200 units - its the sweet spot for all these kinds of simulation calculations to work with their default settings.