MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Delaying time of Rigid Body?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
kale collins
Delaying time of Rigid Body?
on Jun 1, 2018 at 2:57:38 am

Hello! first post here, and just only beginning to understand the wonders of C4D... In my file currently I have a pair of earrings with a Rigid Body tag and a Collider tag for RealFlow (plug-in) so when the Earrings collide into the water a Crown splash would be the result.

I would like to delay the initial start time of when the Earrings fall because I want to make them spin around firstly.

I know this is possible somehow with the Dynamics Tag- I'm still learning but if anyone could give me some pointers that'd be greatly appreciated! ^_^
Thanks much!
-Kale

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
Re: Delaying time of Rigid Body?
on Jun 1, 2018 at 6:47:49 am
Last Edited By Jim Scott on Jun 1, 2018 at 6:50:54 am

Hi Kale,

You could keyframe either the Dynamic setting or the Enabled setting of the tag. At the point in time when you'd like the earrings to fall either leave the tag Enabled (checked) and keyframe Dynamic (with Trigger set to the default of "Immediately") from "Off" to "On" from one frame to the next , or leave Dynamic "On" and keyframe Enabled from unchecked to checked.

Though either method will work for simple animations, I would suggest leaving the tag enabled and keyframing Dynamic. That way the object will still respond to collisions if necessary. See the help section for "Dynamics Body Tag: Dynamics " for a discussion of those settings, as well as the Transition Time setting which can be useful in some scenarios.

Return to posts index

kale collins
on Jun 4, 2018 at 2:14:21 am