MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Is there a way of working with the interpolation lines between keyframes as if they were splines?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Xavier Bonet
Is there a way of working with the interpolation lines between keyframes as if they were splines?
on Apr 24, 2018 at 11:55:15 pm
Last Edited By Xavier Bonet on Apr 27, 2018 at 1:23:22 pm

I've rigged a character and am trying to get it to move with some certain naturally but I'm finding it difficult because of how the keyframes work in C4D.

Let's take the arm, for instance: it swings as the character walks. So I've got a starting keyframe with the arm set a little behind the body and an ending keyframe with it a little in front, but I don't want the arm to travel in a straight line, as it's now doing, I want that line to "sag" in the middle, creating an arching movement with the arm.

Now, I'm rather new to C4D, but I come from a strong AE background and, especially, a 2D animation background there. I have a lot of experience with rigging characters and animating them in AE, and the process of making them move "naturally" feels rather more practical and, shall I say, easier in AE.

In AE the keyframes create interpolation lines that work exactly like splines. So one can move around points right in the viewport, like in C4D, but one can also manipulate the bezier controls in order to create whichever form one wants with those "splines". In the case I mentioned of the arm, it's as easy as pulling down these controls until the center of the movement line becomes the bottom part of an arc. One is controlling all 3 axes at once in order to create the needed effect. And all of this is done visually in the viewport, so that there's no need to go about blindly doing it on the timeline through trial and error.