MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Rendering Time increases with every Frame

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Thirin Vogler
Rendering Time increases with every Frame
on Apr 21, 2018 at 3:48:54 pm

Hello.
I am new to C4D and while I've been using it for single frame renders for some time I am now tackling my first animation.

It is a rather simple scene: A handful of prerendered 2D characters put onto plane objects as animated textures in a 3d enviroment with a few lights and a camera.
The objects themselves are not moving. The only animated things are the camera, the textures and some chached cloth objects. I am rendering as a png-sequence through the standard renderer.

Now onto the problem:
As soon as I start rendering I see a fairly consistent increase in render time with each new frame rendered (see picture below). This wouldn't be a problem if it were only a small animation, but I still have a good 3,5k frames ahead of me and just letting it run on its own will eventually bring the whole thing to a grinding halt.

Doing some research I have found people with similar problems across the internet (namely here, here, here, here, here and here). Most seem to think it has to do with the GI or AO cache and even though I tried to utilize every bit of information I could find I have now reached a point where I completely removed GI and Ambient Occlusion from my render settings page. The issue persists.

A small workaround has been mentioned in one of the threads where if you restart Cinema 4D the problem seems to reset, but already after the first few new frames it comes back. There is no visible change between the last "old" frames and new frames after a reset.

My specs:
-Cinema 4D R18
-Windows 7 Prof.
-i7 8700k (not overclocked)
-32GB RAM
-GTX 1070ti

Thanks in advance.
-Thirin

Return to posts index

Steve Bentley
Re: Rendering Time increases with every Frame
on Apr 21, 2018 at 6:51:17 pm