MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Does the Compositing Tag not work on lights?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Xavier Bonet
Does the Compositing Tag not work on lights?
on Apr 17, 2018 at 10:17:55 pm

In my scene I have 2 vehicle objects that have headlights in them. One of the objects "drives in" from the side of the stage and the other drops down from the sky through dynamics. Now, the lights are part of the parent null that makes up each object, because the lights are coming from "inside" the object. Because I have severa camera movements, I have Compositing Tags on the objects, and I've set everything so that they're "hidden" from the camera, reflections, etc., until they come into the scene. These tags affect everything inside the objects, but not the lights. So I've given the lights there own tags... and nothing happens.

I'm rather new to C4D, so I'm assuming through this that Compositing Tags don't work on lights. But is there no way of "hiding" lights while not in use? Because wit my current settings I can see spots hanging about in midair and can't seem to do anything about it! Plus, the lights continue affecting the rest of the objects in my scene... in fact, they affect even more in some cases, because they're far away (which I don't really understand why).

I could put their intensity down to 0 but this seems rather like a workaround... can't lights be hidden? If that's the case: why?

Thanks for your input!

Return to posts index

Steve Bentley
Re: Does the Compositing Tag not work on lights?
on Apr 17, 2018 at 10:56:32 pm

So a couple of things you can do - there's the enable x beside the lights objects. You can turn those off manually or tie them to a node in expresso so all of the ones you want to go off do so at once. You can also make them part of a group or a selection and toggle them that way.