MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

C4D is automatically putting the center of all my objects at the center of workplane

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Xavier Bonet
C4D is automatically putting the center of all my objects at the center of workplane
on Apr 5, 2018 at 5:14:32 pm

I'm rather new to C4D but am getting along rather fine with online tutorials. However, in one of my projects (only in one of them) I'm having this very frustrating issue.

I create an object and everything's fine: it's axis is where it should be. But the moment I make the object editable, the axis jumps to the center of the workplane, which makes it impossible to actually edit the object with any degree of detail without having to first move the axis back to its real center. Now, I shouldn't have to invest more time in re-centering axes, obviously, but the worst part is that as soon as I deselect the editable object, the axis resets back to the center of the workplane! Which of course means any time I want to edit an object, any object, even those previously edited, I have to readjust the axes... and, as far as I know, there's no one-button-way of re-entering axes to objects, so it has to be done manually and painstakingly. (Enabling there axis and resetting Position, Size and Rotation to 0 doesn't work because it's taking the center of the workplace as 0 in all cases.)

You can understand I'm at wit's end! I don't know if I've accidentally pressed a combination of keys that's activated or deactivated some function, or if it's a known bug that appears when one does something or includes something in the workplane, etc. At any rate, I've been working 3 days with this happening because I haven't been able to find any info online... I thought I would finish the project and forget about it in my next projects but the issue is proving to make my workflow as s-l-o-w as can be.