MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Some frames rendering as black

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tarn Mount
Some frames rendering as black
on Nov 13, 2017 at 3:10:07 pm

Hi,
I'm a noob to anything 3D. I have a 300 frame animation and the first 93 frames are all rendering as pure black. Every frame after 93 looks great. The animation is a flyover and the landscape I created has a loooot of polygons. The early part of the animation has most of the polygons in frame and the later part zooms in on an area.

My computer is an old machine - '09 macbook pro, 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo.

My questions is: Could the problem be my CPU can't deal with all the polygons in frame in the early part of the animation? Therefor, it's just a viewing issue at my end?
Is it likely that if I send it to a render farm it will all be good?
Is there anything I can do to fix this? I'm happy to send the file to anyone to have a look at it. I'm using R17.

Cheers, Tarn

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
Re: Some frames rendering as black
on Nov 13, 2017 at 9:04:39 pm

Do the offending frames render ok in the viewport, but not in your final render?

Post your project file so we can take a look at it. Just drag your C4D file into the reply window and it will be uploaded and posted with your reply.

Return to posts index

Tarn Mount
on Nov 14, 2017 at 3:41:55 am

Hi Jim,
Thanks for replying. I dragged my file into this reply window so hopefully you can access it. I uploaded 5 frames stepped every 30 to a render farm and, sure enough, the first 4 frames came back black and frame 120 came back fine. So frames 0, 30, 60, 90 were all black. So apparently the problem isn't just my computer unable to view so many polygons.

Let me know if you can uncover anything! ☺

Cheers, Tarn

11855_landscapesmall.c4d.zip

Return to posts index

Tarn Mount
on Nov 14, 2017 at 6:42:01 am

Hi,