MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

6700k vs 5820k for C4D/AE/Premiere pro

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Parthibaraj rajasekar6700k vs 5820k for C4D/AE/Premiere pro
by on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:37:29 pm

Newbie to animation, with lot of questions on figuring out my work station.I have compiled all my questions.Please help. I am building this PC for a research institute, and I am going to be the only animator at least for few years. Since I am quite new to animation. I think a 6700k setup will suffice for 2 years to come, till I develop skills that requires even more a high end work station. 

My usage:
- Cinema 4D
- After effects
- Premiere pro 
- rendering in all 3 above. I am looking for a CPU & GPU, which is equally good in all 3 softwares above.
- Zero gaming
- not done overclocking so far. No plans as of now. I have not ruled out it though. I will take a call based on the discussion. 

- GTX 970 Is what I have planned for GPU.  GTX 970 / 1060 6 GB of same price, whereas 980Ti and  1070 are twice the price.  I want my GPU to be able to handle GPU render software, in case If I opt to go for it. For my usage I dont think SLI will ever come to consideration for 2 years, or is it so? 

- Will usage of SSD be of any help to reduce render times? If not what is the usage of SSD, apart from quick boot of OS?
- Thinking of going for a 32 GB RAM on a 64GB motherboard.So that if needed I can increase it later on. Is it ok, if I use only 2 RAM slots for 32 GB RAM? Will it be properly utilized by the softwares and processor?
My understanding C4D uses CPU for rendering and GPU for viewport performance. 

I read in CGdirector website that,