I need some suggestions with folds on a juice carton

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Luiz Cruz
I need some suggestions with folds on a juice carton
on May 6, 2016 at 8:29:52 pm
Last Edited By Luiz Cruz on May 6, 2016 at 9:28:06 pm

Hello!

I've been playing with C4D for about 2 years now but of course there are challenges that glitch the hell out of my brain.

A friend of mine asked me to model a juice carton following this Tetra Pak packaging (Square 330 w/ DreamCap).

I have the schematics and everyting and I've tried working with Fold My Design with no success and importing the splines and coverting them to polygons, folding them manually, also with no success.

So I started modelling it from a cube, and I got a pretty good result so far. The only problem now are those folds at the top (and at the bottom too). I have no idea how I'm going to do them. Can you guys help please?

I saw the milk carton model included in the starter libraries and I noticed the geometry was actually folded to achieve the result there. I just don't know how to make something similar.

I have attached pictures of what I have been modelling so far and where do I need to get (apart from the Tetra Pak link).

Reference image

What I have

I would love some help on this. Thank you very much.

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
Re: I need some suggestions with folds on a juice carton
on May 7, 2016 at 7:23:08 pm

I would try a loop cut around the box up near the top (about the thickness the folds should be) then extrude out on two opposite sides then bend that down and taper it to a point.

Return to posts index

Luiz Cruz
on May 8, 2016 at 11:19:31 pm

Nice idea, Brian. I have thought of this solution before but I'll try executing it one more time.

One question though: I bent the extruded top cut manually. Is it possible to use deformers on selected geometry of an object?

Thanks.

Return to posts index

Brian Jones