MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Change object dimensions without affecting it's texture

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Valentin BaertschiChange object dimensions without affecting it's texture
by on Feb 24, 2016 at 11:37:39 am
Last Edited By Valentin Baertschi on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:46:10 pm

Hi there,I'm quite new to c4d, especially to animation, but I'm sure some of you might know some solutions for my problem.

I'm trying to make a really simplified animation of a sliding curtain.

For my curtain I only used a bent plan, on which I added a material including a texture and a noise displacement (to make the wrinkles) (Please note that on the simplified example, the plan is juste flat, not bent)

I'm ok with the fact it won't act as a real curtain (cloth physics and all).

All I want is the plan to shrink (have a length of X at the beginning, and then decrease until it disappears, length of 0)

While it does that, I want my texture to stay in place (no size change, nothing) just staying put.

I want the same for the displacement (so the curtain stays the same, it's just that at the end of the animation it has disappared from, let's say, right to left. but no change have been made to both texture and displacement). I'm considering having the displacement shrinking too, but I'm interested in knowing how to stop it from doing it.

For the curtain I set a null so it would shrink from the anchor point of the null, that I located on the right side) (not the center of the plan like usual primitives)

I then tried to simply scale the texture using UVW's so it would scale linearly exactly along the shrinking of the plan....but it seems like it's not going the same rate (see short video example I did)

vidéo link:
project file: