MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Rotating line of objects by incremental amounts.

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
John Hillman
Rotating line of objects by incremental amounts.
on Feb 12, 2016 at 12:15:01 am

Hello all, I'm new at using Cinema 4D, and I have a question.
I have a line of objects, and I'm trying to find a way to automagically rotate each item by an increasing amount, to "fan" them out. The end result would be the first object being rotated -45, the next -15, the next +15, and the last +45.

Obviously I can do this by hand fairly easily, but I'll have something like 250 objects to do this to when it's all said and done, so I'd like to automate it.

I've tried using a Step Effector but it hasn't worked for me with a group of discreet objects.

I tried using Tools>Arrange Objects>Arrange, but it seems to set rotation to 0 if the rotation would cross 360 or 0. Also, while this works in some cases, it has that feeling of being wrong.

Is there a better way to do what I'm trying to do?

FYI, the file is an export from Vectorworks, and I'm using R17

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
Re: Rotating line of objects by incremental amounts.
on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:04:05 am

It sounds like they are not clones, if so if they are all children of each other (a nested hierarchy) you select them all and rotate and each moves as much as all it's parents and it's own rotation so they 'fan'. (there are some scripts to 'chain and 'un-chain' out there which helps a lot when trying to make 250 objects an object hierarchy). Or all the separate objects can be put into a Fracture object and apply a Step effector to that (takes a bit of work as they will want to rotate at the center but it can be fixed). Or are they clones?

Return to posts index

John Hillman
on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:20:06 am