MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

How can I add width to Thinking Particles following a spline?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jenni SandersHow can I add width to Thinking Particles following a spline?
by on Feb 9, 2016 at 11:59:44 am
Last Edited By Jenni Sanders on Feb 9, 2016 at 2:23:59 pm

Hi - I've got a Thinking Particle system to make rocks follow a spline over a conveyer belt. Problem is, they're following in a neat line and I would like them to spread across the width of the belt (see image).

My TP is from a tutorial as I have no experience with it at all. I think it's being restricted by the Spline, so even when I change X size on the PStorm, it still stays as a single line (see screenshot).

How can I get the particles to spread out width ways?

Thankyou!

screenshot2016-02-09at11.58.23.png

Return to posts index

Adam TrachtenbergRe: How can I add width to Thinking Particles following a spline?
by on Feb 9, 2016 at 5:38:00 pm

I would suggest you look at the TP Move On Spline preset that's located in the Content Browser's Studio>Presets>Thinking Particles Presets>Setups>Interaction folder.

Return to posts index

Jenni SandersRe: How can I add width to Thinking Particles following a spline?
by on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:31:34 am

Hi Adam, thanks for your reply - I can't seem to get anything to work using the preset!
I've attached a screenshot.

I added the preset to the scene, added the Conveyer Spline to the "Spline" field. Also added Particle Group "All" to the Particle Group field. And despite a lot of playing around, on different scenes with different variations, I can't even get thinking particles to emit! Nothing happens at all.

Have I missed something obvious? I've looked on Tutorials and they just seem to add it to the scene and it works!

screenshot2016-02-10at09.28.41.png

Return to posts index