MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

"Shapy" lights projected through transparent/translucent materials

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Valentin Baertschi"Shapy" lights projected through transparent/translucent materials
by on Feb 2, 2016 at 9:39:23 am

Hi there, I'm a new member of the Cow even though I already browsed through several topics in the last month or so.

I'm a swiss student in architecture and I'm trying to make a reconstitution of a pavillon space which features lightshows through transparent-ish materials. (See image 1 for transparent curtain and image 2 for translucent wall). This reconstitution needs to be animated. The lights shown in the picture move, switch on and off, etc.

For that work I have to use c4d, a software that I never used before, and that's why I'm here...

I have a hard time approaching the desired effect for the translucent wall:

I manage to have translucency (although not super nice but that's a start) but I don't have a lot of ideas on how to have those "shapes" the lights that are projected through the wall have. (a bit cloudy, almost like a view from space (pic3)

That's the most tricky part given my lack of knowledge.

In addition to that, I'm fully open to advice regarding the translucency (I set my wall to have a slight thickness, subsurface scattering, transparency and blurriness, all of which I discovered through tutorials and other related threads)

I'm really looking forward to see potential answers, sorry I can't really "give back" to the community since I just know close to nothing in cinema. I also hope I didn't violate any important rule of the forum, if so, just kindly point out what I did wrong, I'll do my best to edit/delete my post.

link for all three examples (in one single image):

Return to posts index

Adam TrachtenbergRe: "Shapy" lights projected through transparent/translucent materials
by on Feb 2, 2016 at 4:57:30 pm