MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Cloth Jumping/Flipping around

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Aaron PozzerCloth Jumping/Flipping around
by on Jan 31, 2016 at 7:28:34 pm

hey all, im having some cloth trouble. well, this whole project has been cloth trouble. i find it impossible to get the c4d cloth engine to give good results without an absolute battle. granted, im new to it, but still, there are only a handful of parameters to tweak. anyway... iv attached a scene file...

the problem is as follows...

-there are 50 frames of pre-calc to get the strap into the correct position.
-rigid sim on camera model starts at 0, camera falls, strap is attached via belt tags, strap gets pulled along
-as soon as the cloth sim starts, and the strap is pulled into position by the belt cube obj, you can see the cloth moving very erratically, close to the belt.
- around frame 0 when the camera starts falling, the cloth strap starts going nuts on BOTH sides, at both belt points. every frame it flips here and there to another solution, not giving a smooth predictable fall, as if being pulled down by the rigid body.

iv tried everything i can think of. so many settings tweaks i've lost count. jacked all the simulation settings to (what i think are) realy high values based on what the defaults are. iv tried making changes to the geometry as well... that doesnt help.

so at this point, im out of ideas. id like to know why the cloth is freaking out so much. too bad there isnt (as far as i know of) a general dampening setting, like the linear and angular velocity options in the rigid solver.

Return to posts index

Brian JonesRe: Cloth Jumping/Flipping around
by on Feb 1, 2016 at 6:28:35 am

subdivided the long polys (the thicker bit between the end and the fat part of the strap), added a vertex map so some areas are stiffer (the transition areas particularly where there are vertex's so close to each other).