MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

random effector on a clone. how do I make the random effects end randomly?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
chad demossrandom effector on a clone. how do I make the random effects end randomly?
by on Jan 25, 2016 at 11:48:34 pm

There's probably a simple solution but I'm kind of new to this.

I have a clone that I put a random effector on that starts off with the x and y axis at 500cm and then i animate it to end at 0cm. so basically all the boxes i have start far apart from each other and over 90 frames come together. I don't want all of the cloned boxes to settle into place at frame 90 I would like to randomize when they reach 0 cm

Return to posts index

Adam TrachtenbergRe: random effector on a clone. how do I make the random effects end randomly?
by on Jan 26, 2016 at 2:55:29 am

It's a little tricky but not hard once you know how to do it. What you'll need to do is NOT animate the strength of the Random effector, but instead use a Shader Effector to control the weight of the Random Effector. A noise shader goes in the Shader Effector's shading tab and you animate the brightness of the noise.

Steps:

* apply shader effector to cloner;
* in the effector's parameters tab, set "modify weight" to 100%;
* turn off the default scale parameter;
* add a noise shader (world space) in the shading tab and animate the noise brightness from 100% to -100%;
* in the random effector's falloff tab, turn weight down to 0%.

Example: 9710_staggeredunrandomize.c4d.zip

Return to posts index

chad demossRe: random effector on a clone. how do I make the random effects end randomly?
by on Jan 26, 2016 at 10:00:30 pm

Thanks, that worked. Although I'm not really sure what's going on.

Return to posts index

Adam TrachtenbergRe: random effector on a clone. how do I make the random effects end randomly?
by on Jan 26, 2016 at 11:28:20 pm