MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Custom Spline+Extrude Nurb+Boole+Hypernurb= TROUBLE!

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Lindsay JohnsonCustom Spline+Extrude Nurb+Boole+Hypernurb= TROUBLE!
by on Jan 8, 2016 at 10:51:20 pm

Hello to all,

First off let me say thanx in advance. Im getting back into modeling and such and feel like a complete noob again. I needed to make a custom shape to use as a boole to make a cutout in a cube. I used a spline to make the shape and used the extrude nurb to extrude it. I made everything editable and placed both the cube and the newly extruded spline/polygon under the boole. As anticipated, the cutout came out as I had hoped. My next step was to add a hypernurb to smooth everything out. Upon adding the hypernurb and checking the render view i noticed that all around the area of the cutout (and insde the cutout as well) was distorted. Is there a way that I can make an extrudenurb spline play nice with a hypernurb or is there a better (cleaner) method to get a custom cutout from a polygon or parametric object.

Ive provided photos for a representation that I quickly through together 1. without hypernurb 2. with hypernurb (THIS PIC IS NOT MY ACTUAL PROJECT LOL)

Return to posts index

Brian JonesRe: Custom Spline+Extrude Nurb+Boole+Hypernurb= TROUBLE!
by on Jan 9, 2016 at 4:28:59 am

R14, last time it was called HyperNurbs before being called Subdivision Surface. Also you don't have the much improved Bevel tool which comes in a later version.