MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

C4D Character Rigging Issues

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ryan AchtenC4D Character Rigging Issues
by on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:55:05 am

I am relatively new to C4D and 3D modelling in general so please excuse any obvious novice mistakes. I have recently encountered the opportunity to explore character animation for a project I'm working on, however I am experiencing issues with the character rigging and positioning process. I have watched a number of tutorials however I can't seem to resolve the issue on my own.

The first of these issues occurs once I have created the rig (using the advanced biped character rigs as per this tutorial) and bound the rig to my object, I have a lot difficulty being able to reposition the limbs of the model using the controller GUI elements in order to produce the animation.
I have a temporary workaround where, by using the controller objects with the Master_con+ (displayed in the object manager), I am able to control the position and rotation of the joints. Judging by the tutorials online this is a comparatively slow workflow and suggests there is something wrong with my setup.

Image of temporary workaround:

I have a feeling that this maybe due, in part at least, to the positioning of the controllers or perhaps I have constructed the rig in an incorrect manner; regardless I am unable to figure this out within our tight production schedule so some advice from those more accustomed would be greatly appreciated