MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Some polygons shading wierdly

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matt MaxwellSome polygons shading wierdly
by on Aug 15, 2014 at 1:51:09 pm

I'm pretty new to C4D and the client gave me an OBJ model. When I render I'm getting visible unwanted lighter shading between some edges. See the attached grabs showing the mesh and the improperly shaded areas.

I have tried optimizing the geometry and experimented with other mesh commands (that are mysterious to me and seem to create uneven results, but I believe that the problem isnt the mesh, but the few triangles that are shading incorrectly. And the client is very picky and I cant have a lumpy surface.

Please help if you can. I need these to render without these edges showing!

The problem render:

The wireframe:

Wireframe zoomed out (for context):

Another view close-up (click to zoom in for a better view):

Return to posts index

Brian JonesRe: Some polygons shading wierdly
by on Aug 15, 2014 at 3:28:27 pm

no triangles would be better. Try selecting all the points and run an Optimize, then select all the polys and Align Normals (and make sure they are all facing outwards), then try to Untriangulate - you'd have to play with the settings to get as many as possible to change to quads and you won't likely get all of them - it might not be necessary anyway. if it is it might take doing it by hand

Return to posts index

Matt MaxwellRe: Some polygons shading wierdly
by on Aug 18, 2014 at 10:05:40 pm

Thank you for your response. It helped me get closer. The mesh was a nasty mess with all sorts of redundant points. I optimized and de-triangulated, Much nicer. But I still have shading issues.