MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Bad OBJs in Cinema 4D

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jeff Klein
Bad OBJs in Cinema 4D
on Jul 22, 2014 at 6:09:00 pm
Last Edited By Jeff Klein on Jul 22, 2014 at 6:30:34 pm

Hello. I am a novice in Cinema 4D (R13). I need to texture and render a football helmet for a client. The 3D model of the helmet was sent to me as multiple OBJs (one OBJ for each piece of the model). Each OBJ is a different random color in the attached image, just so you can see what the different pieces are. Most the helmet came in fine (the OBJs look how they are supposed to). However, a few of the pieces look funky (they have holes/errors in them). These problematic pieces include the dark green, light green, and yellow pieces in the attached image.

I am wondering if there was an "easy" way to fix these pieces. Maybe a checkbox somewhere that says "fill in the holes" or something like that. The 3D doesn't need to be 100 percent perfect/accurate, it just needs to be fixed enough where there won't be these obvious errors. We could just Photoshop the stills but there will need to also be a few animations done.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I could post the individual bad OBJs if that would be of any help.

Return to posts index

Adam Trachtenberg
Re: Bad OBJs in Cinema 4D
on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:20:29 pm

There is a "close polygon hole" tool, but you'd have to do each hole individually. First make sure that they really are holes and not reversed or degenerate faces. I would probably start by running the align normals command.

Return to posts index

Jeff Klein
on Jul 22, 2014 at 9:44:31 pm