MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Spline Mask Rectangle

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Derick JoeSpline Mask Rectangle
by on Jul 2, 2014 at 2:12:48 pm

Hello Cinema4D users. I'm having issues with using a rectangular Spline Mask in Cinema4D Lite for After Effects CC. I'm hoping someone can help me out with this issue. I'm a beginner at Cinema4D, but not After Effects.

I'm currently working on an animated title sequence and am trying to use a rectangular spline mask to mask out part of an illustrator graphic. I have the graphic which is an illustrator path layer inside a spline mask layer. The rectangle layer is above my illustrator path also inside the spline mask. I have all of this inside an Extrude Nurbs layer. I've animated the rectangle mask to slide along the x axis to reveal the logo which is the illustrator path. I also have several lights setup within my scene. There is a material object set on my logo layer.

So my issue is that the rectangle layer is showing up as a solid colored object and not transparent as I think it should be. I've watched several Cinema4D tutorials online showing how to use spline masks with the rectangle tool and none of them ever have this issue. I can't figure out why my rectangle is opaque and taking on the color of my lights as if it had a material applied to it. Does this make sense? I've attached a screenshot of my project. Obviously that huge colored rectangle isn't supposed to be there. The following image shows what I'm trying to mask out and reveal which are those lines. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Return to posts index

Derick JoeRe: Spline Mask Rectangle
by on Jul 8, 2014 at 1:18:35 pm

Nobody has any answers to this issue?

Return to posts index

Brian JonesRe: Spline Mask Rectangle
by on Jul 8, 2014 at 3:05:29 pm