MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Alpha and Transparency overlap issue

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Vishwesh MenonAlpha and Transparency overlap issue
by on Jun 14, 2014 at 3:57:19 pm

Hello all!

First up- a big thank you to everyone on creative cow!! I've learned so much on these forums- it's crazy! Thank you!!

I'm new to C4D and am still struggling with the basics.

I'm working on a video where the environments are made in c4d (3d) and I'm animating the characters in flash and placing 2D Characters in C4D

I have two 2d Character PNGs projected on two planes and placed in a 3D environment made in C4d.

The PNGs are placed on the planes via a texture material with the PNG loaded onto the color channel and Alpha channel. No other channels are activated.

One character is placed behind a cash counter of sorts (made in C4d) with a partial glass face- so part of him should be visible through the glass.

The other character is placed in the foreground in front of the Counter.

The counter has a glass face- for this I have created a texture material with only the color channel and transparency channel activated.

I have added a look at camera Tag to the character planes.

This is how the setup looks in C4D

The problem is- This is how it looks rendered.

It's messed up! and i think I'm missing something very basic.

The space around the character on the character plane that should render as transparent (alpha of the PNG)- renders gray in color through the transparent glass- but renders transparent (as needed when not seen through the glass)

As for the Character Plane in the foreground(in front of the counter)- the alpha around the character renders fine- but makes one part of the cash counter invisible (whenever/wherever the character plane overlaps the cash counter).