MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Modeling Ridges- Beginner- Best Practice?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Caroline Quinn
Modeling Ridges- Beginner- Best Practice?
on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:01:54 pm
Last Edited By Caroline Quinn on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:06:15 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Cinema 4D- I have the newest Studio version- and I'm trying to model this product with a ridged/grooved/ribbed edge-
See picture:

ridgedproductedge.jpg

- and I'm not quite sure how to do this. I tried to make a cloner object and boolean a cylinder edge, but it turned into a bunch of triangles. I would appreciate if someone could tell me the best way to go about this- Whats the best practice to create these edges and duplicate them around a circle like that?

Any help appreciated!

Thanks!

Thanks

Return to posts index

Darby Edelen
Re: Modeling Ridges- Beginner- Best Practice?
on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:23:46 pm
Last Edited By Darby Edelen on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:26:05 pm

Booleans are evil.

Since this is radially symmetrical the way I'd do this is by sub-d modelling a very small section of the circle, say from one ridge to the next, and then cloning that geometry using a Radial cloner to create the full circle.

Take a look at this video for some inspiration:

Darby Edelen

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:47:26 pm
Last Edited By Brian Jones on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:16:10 pm