Hi all,

I'm new to cinema 4d and 3D programs in general. Here are my specs:

windows 7
Asus P9X79 PRO
GTX 580 3Gb
intel i7-3930K
64Gb ram 1600Mhz
Cinema 4d r14

I'm curious, what functions does C4D rely on the CPU vs. the GPU?

Are there any quick settings in preferences I can change to improve overall efficiency of the program?

At the time I built this system the 580 3Gb was the biggest bang for my buck in terms of use in after effects. Is it worth while for me to upgrade my GPU, and if so, what would you guys suggest in terms of biggest bang for my buck? (budget is up to $800)

Where can I find a benchmark list for GPU and CPU performance in Cinema 4D?

Sorry if the questions are a bit broad. I'm still trying to get a handle on how C4D operates. Thanks for your advice!

Return to posts index

Adam Trachtenberg
Re: Best Hardware and settings for Cinema 4D r14
on Jun 20, 2013 at 2:25:57 am

Cinema is pretty well optimized out of the box. I have essentially the same hardware and I haven't felt the need to change any of the default hardware settings. I don't think you'll get much better performance by upgrading your video card. The top ATI cards tend to benchmark better in Cinema, but I avoid them because ATI doesn't have the best track record with OpenGL drivers.

Return to posts index

Dell Anderson
on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:21:31 pm

windows 7
Asus P9X79 PRO
GTX 580 3Gb
intel i7-3930K
64Gb ram 1600Mhz
Cinema 4d r14

Great info. Wow that's a monster! ;-) I'm considering building a long overdue replacement for my outdated C4DR14 homebuilt hardware.

Last computer was a maxed out Intel motherboard with 32 bit OS (and you know what that means for RAM...). Anyone know of Intel alternatives to Asus P9X79 Pro or is that the one to get? I like to stay Intel when I can.

best,

Dell Anderson