MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Need advice on multisegment "string" project

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Max SteinNeed advice on multisegment "string" project
by on Dec 8, 2012 at 3:46:49 am

Yes I am new to C4D, but 30 years in computer graphics.

I have a project, and an looking into alternate tools to get the result I'm looking for. I would like as an artist to try Cinema 4D to generate high resolution 2 D images to be printed up to 36x60" @ 300 dpi. I realize there are many different ways to get to a final image within C4D. My other options are Adobe Illustrator, and Photoshop. But I know I can get the results I imagine with a 3D renderer, and have the ability to adjust textures, lighting and perspective. With that being said, I would appreciate any input at how I may approach this.

1) I see these as strings or long cylinders that are deformed. Each segment like a dashed line in illustrator is a different solid color. Maybe there is shading or shadows, but at the very least a sold 2D shape.

2) I'd like each segment to be limited to a finite color pallets. 24 predefined colors or so.

3) I'd like to set up the scene, these long reeds of colored dashes, and apply effectors to twist or distort the objects.

So firstly, can anyone give me a starting point how they would create these long strings and segments?

How to asign the colors randomly, but stay with in my color set?

Any tips on rendering settings (9,000 x 18,000 pixels or so)? Best output format etc. I will most likely bring the image into Photoshop for printing. I didn't see an option other than sRGB? Is Adobe RGB or Prophoto color-spaces supported?

Any starting points would be appreciated. Particle system? cloner objects? etc?

Attached is an example of the look I'm going for which is made of textile.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Return to posts index

Rasmus GernerRe: Need advice on multisegment "string" project