MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

C4d newbie - Camera Rotation not holding

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Barbara MillsC4d newbie - Camera Rotation not holding
by on Sep 26, 2012 at 6:27:58 am

Hello - I am VERY new to C4d (R14, Mac, 10.6.8, 20GB ram) I have worked off and on with Lightwave for quite a few years so I am not new to 3D, though I have never done very difficult things.
Just to give you a feel for what I am doing this time . . .
I have a very large scene translated from CAD. It seems to be loaded properly and I have been able to work with it but things are very slow.
I need to do a flyover. (The massive scene stays still the camera moves.)

The problem I am having seems so basic .
I have been setting up several cameras to get good angles on the scene.
I set position and rotation for the angle I need. Then I create a different camera and set up a different location and rotation.
But when I go back to one of the previously set cameras, it has lost it's rotation settings. (not always)
I have tried: setting protection tags, setting key frames, typing in all coordinates by hand from paper so I won't accidentally move things, saving religiously, and still I cannot get a camera to stay where I put it, specifically in regard to rotation.
I have not tried to do any animation. I have not set any targets, just trying to be really basic to start out.
I am so frustrated. any ideas?
Thanks,
Barb o_O

Return to posts index

Seth OlsonRe: C4d newbie - Camera Rotation not holding
by on Sep 26, 2012 at 4:27:50 pm

I've had a problem with that, especially if I have set up animation of a null with a camera parented. I was able to solve my issues by copy and pasting the contents of the scene and paste into another. Kinda ghetto, but it is worth a try.

Also, cmd+shift+z actually undoes camera movement, which has been a problem for shortcut happy people like myself. :)

Return to posts index