MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Flickering Shader Problem

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Darren Goldsmith
Flickering Shader Problem
on Sep 11, 2012 at 5:14:16 pm

Hi folks

I've been testing the C4D r14 demo and discovered an issue with one of the shaders (Nukei) when animated:

http://www.the-pirate-twins.co.uk/c4d/shader_test.mov

Apologies for the lack of quality/clarity in the movie (I compressed it down to get a decent file size) but you can still make out the problem I'm querying.

The purple face of the text flickers as the text falls. At first I thought it was the motion that was causing it but, as you can see, when the text has come to rest, it continues to flicker.

Does anyone know what might cause this.? I'm very new to C4D so it could simply be how that shader behaves (though I doubt it)?

Note: I have uploaded the video using the servers here but the compression (presumably it's that) makes the flickering very hard to spot, so it's best to use my link above.

Cheers,

Darren.

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
Re: Flickering Shader Problem
on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:17:59 pm

if you have any animation in the noise settings it will animate the noise and give you artifacts. I'm talking about the speed in the Noise's settings not the speed setting in the Fusing tab of the Nukei

Return to posts index

Darren Goldsmith
on Sep 11, 2012 at 10:47:28 pm

That's the thing (and one of the first things I checked for), there is zero movement and speed for the Noise settings.

There's no GI (which I'm told might ordinarily have been a culprit), just 1 spot with soft shadows.

Could it be my anti-alias settings? I'm using the standard 'Geometry' at the moment.

Cheers,

Darren.

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
on Sep 12, 2012 at 12:07:53 am