MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

How Can I Make Textures Wrap Around 3D Objects More Realistically In Cinema 4D?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Simon Matthews
How Can I Make Textures Wrap Around 3D Objects More Realistically In Cinema 4D?
on Aug 6, 2012 at 5:41:25 pm

Hi, I'm a C4D newbie and I'm having trouble using textures. Basically, what I'm trying to do is emulate the animation by Andrew Kramer called Biohazard, which he created using his Element 3D plug-in for After Effects. I have the biohazard 3D object already created in C4D, but when I add a texture to it I get unwanted results, such as striping and/or a generally unrealistic look on certain sides of the 3D object. I've followed several tutorials but none really solve the problem. I've already tried changing the projection to cubic, but it still looks bad. Was wondering if there are any tips for making textures wrap around objects better? Thanks.

Return to posts index

Bill Kelly
Re: How Can I Make Textures Wrap Around 3D Objects More Realistically In Cinema 4D?
on Aug 7, 2012 at 4:11:31 am

You can always look into some UVW mapping tutorials, where you basically "unwrap" your object into a flat surface, then texture it in Photoshop.

To see tutorials, articles, tips, free stuff, and more visit my post-production blog at http://thekellzone.com

Return to posts index

Simon Matthews
Re: How Can I Make Textures Wrap Around 3D Objects More Realistically In Cinema 4D?
on Aug 7, 2012 at 8:43:32 am

That sounds good, will try that, thanks very much! :-)

Return to posts index

Simon Matthews
on Aug 7, 2012 at 11:24:44 am

Hi, do you have a tutorial on UVW Mapping? Found a couple on YouTube but they don't really explain enough. Also, if the object is textured in Photoshop, can it then be animated? Thanks.

Return to posts index

Bill Kelly
on Aug 9, 2012 at 7:44:15 am