MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Two questions! How do I fade a shadow in C4D and why is it only rendering 166 frames out of 200??

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Helena Masters
Two questions! How do I fade a shadow in C4D and why is it only rendering 166 frames out of 200??
on Apr 27, 2012 at 4:55:29 pm

I'm making an animated logo which has a soft shadow underneath. I want to fade the shadow out when the text comes in. How do I fade the shadow without effecting anything else?

Also when I render it out, its only rendering the first 166 frames instead of the whole 200 and Im not sure why. Can anybody help?

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
Re: Two questions! How do I fade a shadow in C4D and why is it only rendering 166 frames out of 200??
on Apr 27, 2012 at 7:18:11 pm

I'm new to Cinema 4D myself, but you could animate the Density parameter of the Shadow for your light object(s).

Make sure in your Render Settings that "All Frames" is selected in the Frame Range.

Return to posts index

Helena Masters
Re: Two questions! How do I fade a shadow in C4D and why is it only rendering 166 frames out of 200??
on Apr 27, 2012 at 7:30:04 pm

I managed to work out the frames. Bit strange really - it said it had rendered 166 frames but when I looked it had actually done the whole thing! Thanks for the feedback on that though, I found the 'all frames' you mentioned so will be good to know for next time.

Regarding the shadow, do you mean the intensity of the shadow? I tried keyframing this and it didn't work.

Return to posts index

Jim Scott
on Apr 27, 2012 at 8:17:05 pm

If, for example, you have a spot light object casting the shadow, with that object selected you should see a "Shadow" attribute under which the "Density" parameter can be animated. I don't know where the shadow "intensity" parameter is that you are referring to, but again I am new to this.

Return to posts index

Jim Scott