MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Randomizing clones of clones, material rotation and clean subpoligon displacement.

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sasha Zelman
Randomizing clones of clones, material rotation and clean subpoligon displacement.
on Oct 1, 2011 at 5:55:48 pm

I have been playing with c4d for several months but can't figure out on my own 3 unrelated issues. Please help.

1. Is it possible to instruct effector to affect children of children of its current clone object rather than its immediate children. For example I have array of 100 arrays of a cube and I want very random order of the cubes in EACH of the arrays how can I achieve that? By simply making two cloner objects and two random effectors create arrays of IDENTICALLY randomized cubes - not the result that I seek.

2. Is there a way to rotate or flip UVW texture without actually rotating or flipping original image file? It is annoying to create rotated and flipped versions of an image for such simple operation as axis reorientation - I must certainly miss something.

3. Frequently I see very clean rendersonline of subpoligonal displacement of procedural noise and bitmap based materials. But in my attempts to achieve similar results I always end up with pixelated, serrated edges as if each pixel (even in procedural textures) leaves the trail of its displacement - ugly result and no amount of additional subdivision can completely eliminate it. So what is the trick?

I will greatly appreciate any help in the subject.

Return to posts index

Adam Trachtenberg
Re: Randomizing clones of clones, material rotation and clean subpoligon displacement.
on Oct 1, 2011 at 6:29:09 pm

>1. Is it possible to instruct effector to affect children of children
>of its current clone object rather than its immediate children. For
>example I have array of 100 arrays of a cube and I want very random