MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Better OS for Cinema 4D and After Effects?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jan Vincent Razo
Better OS for Cinema 4D and After Effects?
on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:09:54 pm

Hey guys! Newbie here. I have a Mid 2010 15" Macbook Pro and I was wondering which OS should I use for Cinema 4D and After Effects. I've done some small motion graphics projects on After Effects on OS X so I have experience with how long render times can be sometimes. Just wanted to know if, let's say, I make a simple motion graphics project on AE...which OS would perform better in terms of render times, etc. Same goes for Cinema 4D as well. Will performance be better in my Windows 7 or should I just stick to Lion? Cheers!

Here are my MBP's specs btw:

Mac OS X Lion
Intel Core i5 2.4GHz
8GB DDR3
220GB for Lion
100GB for Windows 7 (64bit)

Return to posts index

Victor Camacho Guerrero
Re: Better OS for Cinema 4D and After Effects?
on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:39:56 pm

For me , one thing usually I dont recommend is getting the OS after they release to the market, because in most of the times, all the plugins for AE are not updated, usually takes a few months. I am still working in Snow Leopard. And being honest, I will keep working with it maybe 1 year more...
I hope it helps.

Return to posts index

Jan Vincent Razo
on Aug 23, 2011 at 12:03:53 am

I know what you mean mate. Upgrading to Lion was a big mistake. Should have just stayed with SL. I guess I'll have to try doing some projects on Windows7 to see if there's any difference in performance. The way I see it, OS X doesn't utilise it's Nvidia graphics card. I think it uses the Intel one, I think. I dunno, maybe that's just me.

Return to posts index

Adam Trachtenberg
on Aug 23, 2011 at 4:21:41 am

Can't speak to AE on OSX, but as far as Cinema goes there shouldn't be much difference if you have equivalent hardware.

Return to posts index