MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Net Render with Mac Mini?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tim PfeifferNet Render with Mac Mini?
by on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:28:03 pm

I'm thinking of buying a couple of the new Mac Mini's 2.7Ghz with 8Gb RAM and starting my little render farm of my own. MAybe even a few goats too. I'm new to this so please forgive me if this is a crazy idea that's been tossed around here too many time before. I'm also wondering if there's a way to just direct connect these and bypass the router. Is there any advantages/benefits to doing that or is it even worth considering?
Thanks for any of your thoughts.

Return to posts index

Tim VaughanRe: Net Render with Mac Mini?
by on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:28:23 pm

It is entirely possible and extremely easy to do, providing you have a small intranet set up where each computer can see the master controller and access the masters hard drive(s). Of course, you will need to verify each render computer has fonts, plugins, and any other add-on. The only drawback is render speed on each computer. The Mac Pro or desktop with a higher processing power is going to render out much faster than the mini's, but having 10 mini's "daisy chained" together is going to definitely speed up the time. Also, I've heard (though not experimented) that mixing processors can yield different results. I'd recommend staying with 1 type. (If Mac, they use the Intel processor. Adding a couple Intel PC's haven't affected my results at all)
Go for it, I say. C4d render farm is extremely versatile and quite easy to set up. Very easy...

Hope this helps!

Now featuring AVID Media Composer
Apple XRAID, XServe, MacPro, Macbook Pro, XSAN, FCP Studio 7 (Sorry, no iMovie Pro)
Apple Monitors, Flanders Scientific Broadcast, Panasonic AG-AF100
Adobe Production Premium, Maxon Cinema 4d
Beer fridge fully loaded.

Return to posts index

Tim PfeifferRe: Net Render with Mac Mini?