MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Newb: is C4D right for me? Need a reality check.

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Steven Reid
Newb: is C4D right for me? Need a reality check.
on Jul 11, 2011 at 2:38:29 pm

Greetings. New user on Cow. Long time editor on Sony Vegas. Computer savvy.

Now I'm looking to create and animate 3D titles, models, movie intro sequences, etc. I'm not an industry pro, this isn't my day job, but I am patient and I have more than tapioca between my ears that does respond to training.

I'm new to the 3D world, and I'm currently playing with Boris Red and Blue trial versions. I do see modest training materials, but Blue's last revision was several years ago.

What I do see is overwhelming recommendations for combined use of C4D and After Effects. User support for both seems to eclipse that for most other products. C4D seems to be recommended for its ease of use and manageable learning curve, compared to other professional 3D apps. I'm new to AE, too, but training materials and online resources for both seem voluminous. So, I'm taking hard look at learning both.

So, I need a reality check before I write a check, so to speak:
Am I nuts for taking on C4D and AE, even with (purchased) training, or is this really doable?

Also, am I correct to understand that one MUST use something like AE to carry on wiht a C4d render, i.e., rendered C4d animations are not dropped straight into an NLE?

For instance, sitting down for a few hours per night, working through examples, etc.? With Vegas, I just jumped right in. It looks like C4D and AE are quite different beasts.

Thanks for guidance.

-Steve

Return to posts index

Adam Trachtenberg
Re: Newb: is C4D right for me? Need a reality check.
on Jul 11, 2011 at 4:12:59 pm