MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Curved extrusions

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
James StrongCurved extrusions
by on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:24:21 am

I am still relatively new to Cinema 4D, and I am wondering how to make nice smooth curved extrusions on an object to achieve "product like" professional looking curves without using any booleans? (Doing this to base geometry not using a hypernurbs cage. For ex. capsule extrusion from one side of a cube face.) I have been trying to find out how to do this for a while now and am quite frustrated. Adding finishing touches to pieces is definitely all in the details and it's these exact details that I'm having difficulty with. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Return to posts index

Greg BurrusRe: Curved extrusions
by on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:41:32 pm

It sounds like you want to use the Bevel tool. Which achieves smooth edges as if you set rounding on a parametric object or used a hypernurbs.
You need to be in modeling mode of course and being in edge mode helps.

Structure > Bevel

This doesn't technically extrude anything though I believe, so you may be going for a different effect.

Greg - Blog - Portfolio

Return to posts index

James StrongRe: Curved extrusions
by on Jun 21, 2011 at 6:43:03 am