MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

Missing Texture Mystery

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Orrin Zucker
Missing Texture Mystery
on Feb 22, 2011 at 6:29:43 pm

Hi-

I'm a bit of a newbie...I was hoping someone could help me on this. I bought a bunch of models, and re-connected the missing textures (saving the paths to the textures when prompted).

When I cut and paste the models into another file, the textures are missing again. Also when I save it and reopen, they're gone.

Theres a ton of textures so I can't keep doing this...help!!

Return to posts index

Adam Trachtenberg
Re: Missing Texture Mystery
on Feb 22, 2011 at 6:53:27 pm

Cinema has what they call absolute texture paths and relative texture paths. If you say "Yes" when prompted to copy a bitmap to the scene location then Cinema creates a relative path, meaning that the program will only look for the bitmap in the local texture directory for the file (e.g., c:\myscene\tex\mybitmap.tif). If you haven't saved the file yet, then Cinema copies the bitmap to the tex folder in Cinema's appdata folder. If you say "No" when prompted to copy the bitmap, Cinema creates an absolute path and it will look for the bitmap in it's current location.

You can convert all your absolute paths to relative paths by using the "save project" command. In that case Cinema will collect all the bitmaps used in your scene and copy them to a "tex" folder inside the project folder.

You can also use preferences>files>texture paths to specify specific directories for Cinema to search when it can't find a bitmap.

Return to posts index

Orrin Zucker
on Feb 22, 2011 at 8:01:08 pm

Thanks Adam-