MAXON CINEMA 4D: Cinema 4D Forum Adobe After Effects Forum

how to build/move realistic titles for video composite?

COW Forums : Maxon Cinema 4D

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Mike Roberts
how to build/move realistic titles for video composite?
on Jan 23, 2011 at 1:51:59 am

Hi there,
I am trying to build some 3d titles for a video clip I have made, I’m rather new to cinema 4d.

I know how to build a basic 3d title in c4d and key frame rotation/position, then export into adobe after effects to track and composite with my footage.

What I’m having trouble with is getting the c4d text to look realistic (e.g. like a real object not cg)

Can anyone make some suggestions of how to build a material to make realistic white letters, or black, possibly even add some reflections from the actual video footage (maybe export a still frame of the video and use this somewhere in the material settings :S ??) I’m thinking that lighting also plays a critical role in getting the text to look more realistic???

The shot im trying to achieve is simply of the text above green grass with a blue sky background.

I plan on doing one shot static and another shot with a simple pan, here is a perfect example!

http://www.vimeo.com/6495778

With this panning example should I key frame the rotation and position of the text? Or is there a way to key frame a virtual camera in c4d so to speak?

If someone could give me a bit of help it would be greatly appreciated!! I’ve been reading lots of tutorials etc with not much luck.

Return to posts index

Brian Jones
Re: how to build/move realistic titles for video composite?
on Jan 23, 2011 at 9:04:06 pm

http://greyscalegorilla.com/blog/2010/12/how-to-make-a-3d-composite-with-an...

this shows one way to approach it. Nick is using an iphone app but that's not the only way to get the panorama...

Return to posts index

Nick Army
Re: how to build/move realistic titles for video composite?
on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:12:40 pm