3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

Weird Error after Reinstall

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rachael Busher
Weird Error after Reinstall
on Dec 10, 2017 at 7:45:21 am

Hello, I have been using 3dsMax for a couple years now as a student, starting with version 2017 and now the 2018, with no problems at all. However this past week my Windows 10 Pro hard drive crashed and I had to reinstall everything from scratch, but no hardware changes except for a new hard drive.

The problem I'm having is that whenever I launch 3dsMax 2018 now I receive an error message about 'ArnoldLight.dlo failing to initialize' and it spams a bunch of error messages about that. Oddly enough, if I click through the error messages, I am still able to use the program for the basic stuff in my projects, however those error messages ALWAYS show up when I open the program fresh and I know it is only a matter of time before the errors catch up to something I need to do.

My PC specs:
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
AMD 6core processor
24gb ram
Geforce GTX 550Ti (with driver 388.59 updated today)

Screencap of the error message is attached, please help! Thanks!
(side note I do not use MAYA much at all, but I have the 2018 of that installed as well and it gives the same errors about the 'Arnold' thing not working)

Return to posts index

Joseph W. Bourke
Re: Weird Error after Reinstall
on Jan 2, 2018 at 8:36:46 pm

Rachel -

Here is what appears to be a solution to your problem:

https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/installation-licensing/error-on-startup-afte...

Scroll down on the page.

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media
http://www.bourkemedia.com

Return to posts index

Rachael Busher
Re: Weird Error after Reinstall
on Jan 2, 2018 at 9:06:45 pm