3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

Rendering for real life footage integration

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Yan LigothRendering for real life footage integration
by on Jun 26, 2014 at 8:58:26 am

Anyone knows of any good tutorials on rendering elements for composite afterwards?
I am looking for a tutorial that can show, how to render different elements, as I am now challenged on how to render some glass elements I have to composite it behind and in front of a character. How do you render it out? The character is rotoscoped and I used a cutout to position it right in 3D space, but how to render those elements to composite in post?

Return to posts index

tim gallaherRe: Rendering for real life footage integration
by on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:08:37 pm

I'm not clear I understand what you are asking due to one or two run-on sentences in your post. I'm a beginner, but I might be able to help. Are you just trying to figure out how to render out elements so they can be composited in post? If so, just put a bright green object/screen behind them and then key it out in post. Are you asking how to put a video in the background of your elements because the elements' material is a type of glass? I can direct you to that as well, cuz I just did it. But it depends on the codec of the video and if 3dsm recognizes it or not. If it does, the process is simple. If it doesn't, you have to render out the video in an image sequence file and do it hat way. The latter is an involved process, and I'm not even sure that's what you want. Please clarify, and I might be able to help.

Return to posts index

Yan LigothRe: ndering for real life footage integration
by on Jul 18, 2014 at 9:16:16 pm