3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

setting a specific object size

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Debbie Rodriguezsetting a specific object size
by on Sep 17, 2013 at 3:54:10 pm

Hi, I'm really new to 3ds max and this may seem like a really basic question.

How can I set a specific size of an object? I am using the program for really basic modelling that then will be 3d printed. (promotional items like key chains, magnets, jewelry)

Right now I have two greek letters for my sorority that are set up in two different files in 3d max. When I upload them to have them 3d printed they are slightly different sizes. How can I specify that I want each object to be say 3 inches x 3 inches by .50 inches?

I see the dimensions under object properties but I can't click in and change them.

I have gone through a bunch of tutorials but still can't find an answer.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: setting a specific object size
by on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:31:25 pm

You have to go into your preferences and set the units to be whatever system you want to use - in this case inches. Max defaults to a generic unit which does not reference real world measurement.

Joe Bourke
Owner/Creative Director
Bourke Media
http://www.bourkemedia.com

Return to posts index

Debbie RodriguezRe: setting a specific object size
by on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:29:21 pm

Thanks Joe, I do have my preferences set to cm as that is what the 3d upload site recommends, my problem is I can't get my two letters to be the same size. I dont know if you can see it in the photo, but the sigma letter is 5.284cmx5.847 cm and .5 deep. The kappa letter is 6.934cmx6.822 cm x .5 the depth is fine because I can specify that in extrude, how can I get the letters the same width and height?

any help is greatly appreciated!

Return to posts index

Joseph W. BourkeRe: setting a specific object size
by on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:25:08 am