3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

Create Unique Material Library

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jeffrey Russell
Create Unique Material Library
on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:42:59 pm

Hello, all.

I am totally new to 3d Max and I need some help. I am not new to CGI -- I've been a Lightwave user since it was introduced nearly twenty years ago. I want to know how to create a materials library. I don't need any of the libraries that come with Max. I make maps and procure textures from somewhere else. I can't apply these materials to surfaces unless they come from a MAT file. So I want to create one like the one in the pink square that contains all the mats I have loaded in the mat window. Should be simple enough, huh? -- but, of all the help files and online tutes I've seen, not one list of instructions matches the interface I see when running 3d Max 9.

The screen shot shows thirteen materials I made for the various windows and doors for St. Raphaels Church. The idea is to combine these into a unique matlib called "St-Raphael.mat" These images can't be applied to surfaces unless they derive from a matlib. For example, look at step no. 2 for creating a matlib in V9:

"Expand the 'Library' tab by left-clicking the [+] sign. This will cause the library tree to open up, revealing all current libraries." That sounds nice but do you see a "Library Tab" anywhere? -- I don't. I'd try the rest of the instructions if they would show me where the "Library Tab" really is. I've gone through the process of clicking the button to "Put to Library" for each image (and given a unique name for each material) which is reflected in the Map Browser window, but I'm still at a loss for turning this list into a St-Raphael matlib file other than following through on the instructions after openning a "Library Tab" which I can not find in the first place.

Return to posts index

Joseph W. Bourke
Re: Create Unique Material Library