3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

Question on training

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jennifer Arani
Question on training
on Jul 15, 2011 at 4:25:55 pm

Hello,

I am stuck in a unusual situation. My company is considering buying 4d Cinema but the only 3d rendering class I can find in the local market is for 3d Max. The instructor has not returned my call and I need to decide quickly if I should enroll. So here is my question......

As a total novice to 3d rendering I do not have even the basics. Will learning the basics with 3d max give me at least enough know how to understand the workflow needed for Cinema 4d?

I don't want to make the same mistake I did with AE and motion graphics. I learned what I need for the project in front of me so my speed at it is not fast enough for the workload. I want to learn to walk before I run.

Thanks for your advise!

Jennifer Arani

Return to posts index

Joseph W. Bourke
Re: Question on training
on Jul 16, 2011 at 1:31:16 am

Hi Jennifer -

I'm a Max 2011 user, and I've been using Max for almost ten years. I used Truespace for a short while before Max, and I can say, from that experience, that your training for Max might help you in the broadest way toward C4D, but only in the same sense that you might get the gist of it.

You would see that most 3D software is based broadly on CAD software, so your basic view setup is four screens, maybe a top, left, right, and perspective view. And you'll find toolbars to the top, and often on the right or left, but the nomenclature, icons, keyboard shortcuts, tools, and such would be entirely different. I don't know this as a fact, but you might have parametric objects, and shapes, such as cubes, spheres, pyramids, text, splines, etc., in both products, but how you access them and modify them is probably totally different.