3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

3d sound placement.

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Richie Tovell3d sound placement.
by on Jan 2, 2011 at 5:25:52 am

Hi, sorry if I sound a little stressed I've been wracking my head up against this problem for a couple of days now, can anybody help, I'm new to 3ds max.

I'm hoping to use 3ds max to create fairly realistic soundscapes, I am venturing in to professional sound design some of which will involve designing sound for theatre and I've been looking for an app to use which could help me create guides for more realistic scene designs including simulating their soundscapes, for example when working on a realistic cityscape, acurate lighting, perspective and textures are just one part of the overall scene, realistic sound is also of major importance as well.

How could I use 3ds max to achive this? could I place or "localize" audio files to specific areas of paticulr models for example? Would it be possible to "attatch" audio files to say a moving object within my model? like a passing car with a realistic engine noise? or could I simulate the different reverbs you might encounter in a subway? In short, what ways could I make the environment of the model "effect" my audio files, could 3ds max take in to acount things like surface textures and reflections like flutter echos for example, room reverbs, doppler panning, distance simulation? If 3ds max could do any of this it would be a great help to me, I would very much like to use 3ds max as an aid to creating more realistic and complex soundscapes as it's modeling engine is just superb and ideal for this work.