3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

I want to create a Gable Box.

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Carmyn DavidsonI want to create a Gable Box.
by on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:04:48 am

Hello. I need to say straight away that I'm quite new to the 3ds Max program. For the past two weeks I've been messing around with the program, looking at various tutorials to try and understand some of the basic tools. I'm trying to learn at least the basics so that I can create a gable box (and possibly other things) for portfolio presentation.

Of course making a box is simple and I know how to use certain modifiers to create round edges of a box from scratch and with the Chamfer Box tool. And I have a stable grasp of the UVW Unwrap tool plus some lighting and rendering techniques. The problem is I don't know how I could rightly create the handles of a gable box so that they are connected to the main part of the package.

So far all I have is a template in illustrator of what the gable box looks like unfolded. I want to know if there is a way to import the template into Max to create the box or if there is another simpler way.

I'm using the 2011 64-bit version of 3Ds Max for free via the three year student license. Thank you for reading.

Return to posts index

Ryan JohnRe: I want to create a Gable Box.
by on Nov 18, 2010 at 1:28:48 am

okay Ill quickly address the Illustrator template, to import this into 3DS you need to save it as a .AI file selecting the Legacy 8 version, you can then use the Import function to import this into 3DS where it will arrive as a spline....however the above is only really necessary if you are following an intricate design like a logo.