3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

I'm way over my head...

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rick SebeckI'm way over my head...
by on Apr 17, 2009 at 12:52:20 pm

Okay so I'm an edito/ motion graphics artist, and would say I'm about 25% proficient in 3D apps. I can create basic models, animate lights, cameras, and basic animations with keyframes, ect.

So I'm compositing a scene that has a bird that flies through it (not really close) I was going to just animate in 2.5 D with a still photo cut up in photoshop, add a ton of motion blur, and be happy. But then I found a modeled, textures, rigged, and animated 3ds file on turbosquid for $70. I figured it was worth a shot!

So I'm kinda understanding what is going on. I found the hierarchy of the bone structures, and the keyframes that are animating the bird... but I've got some questions.

First, let me start by saying I usually use cinema 4D, but since the file I bought was a 3ds file, I downloaded the free 30 day trial. I'm not sure if there are any limitations, but I am noticing that not all of the keystrokes are working. For instance shift+w is not bringing up the steering wheel.

With that said, heres some other things I can seem to figure out. Why do keyframes on bones not show up in the curve editor? How can you adjust the easing? Is there a way to see the bezier handles of a motion path? I am also not able to copy and paste keyframes... I am assuming there has got to be a way to do that, right?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Return to posts index

Roger WellardRe: I'm way over my head...
by on May 28, 2009 at 6:07:53 pm

hey man

not to sure if this helps but check out this tutorial

http://library.creativecow.net/articles/rabinowitz_aharon/bird_flock1.php (part 1)

http://library.creativecow.net/articles/rabinowitz_aharon/bird_flock2.php (part 2)