3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

Render Out 3D Title for After Effects Composite

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Elli Raynai
Render Out 3D Title for After Effects Composite
on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:49:32 am

Hi,

I am pretty new to 3D and I am working on a motion graphics sequence where the client wants to have a 3D title. He wants the title to move towards the camera and change perspective so the audience will be able to see the title in 3D.

I worked through a 3D Title Tutorial in 3DS Max which showed me the ropes but when it came time to render, all I had was a still PNG file that was from one perspective (in this case it was from the front). How would I be able to render out a 3D title so I can composite it in After Effects whereby it has the traits of a full 3D object, so if I swung the camera around I could see it as fully 3D title.

Any assistance on this would be awesome!

Thanks,

Elli

Return to posts index

David Chappell
Re: Render Out 3D Title for After Effects Composite
on Jan 22, 2009 at 11:05:51 am

Hi,
Under Rendering>Render - you need to set your time output (first item under Common Parameters).
It will be set to Single (single frame) by default - either click it to Active Time Segment or the range of frames you want.
Also you must go down to Rendr Output and click 'Files...' button to specify a path and filename. If you output as individual image files it will automatically incrememnt them for you.

Good Luck!

Return to posts index

Elli Raynai
on Jan 22, 2009 at 5:32:46 pm

In terms of the settings, I have clicked on Active Time segment and have specified the area to render as "View". However in order to get the whole 3D text exported so I can animate it in After Effects, do I need to do my animation keyframe in Max? Also do I need to export it with it's Alpha Channel and if so I don't see the option of where it is located.

Thanks for your assistance!

Return to posts index