3DS MAX: 3ds Max Forum 3ds Max Tutorials

A very general question

COW Forums : Autodesk 3ds Max

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul UllahA very general question
by on Apr 19, 2005 at 11:26:30 pm

I have no 3D experience at all. I'm primarily an editor but I'm producing a project soon that requires a lot of 3D.

In general how do you schedule for modelling. When I edit, if it's a fairly straight forward project with an average shooting ratio, I'll say it takes roughly 1 hour per minute of screen time to offline. Then add digitizing and online time.

Do you use any general rule of thumb for modeling? I'm shooting a lot of stuff against green screen where I'll need to build sets in 3D. So, for instance, a set like the abondoned subway station in The Matrix. How long would your estimate to model and then track the live action footage. I realize that I'll need to add render and lighting time to this too.

Return to posts index

hansRe: A very general question
by on Apr 20, 2005 at 1:12:00 pm

Depends on so many factors. That shot was build from multi photos (from what I've read). So they just pasted textures on to walls basically. Modeling and everything takes time, it's not so much the modeling as adjusting the UV cords (which is making sure the texture wraps around each object and doesn't strech and all that).