APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

One of my stock emitters are blurry on export

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rick Clingman
One of my stock emitters are blurry on export
on Nov 5, 2019 at 6:31:37 am

One of my emitters is exporting really blurry. Everything else looks good. It's the stock Motion 5 emitter called Flowers.
It looks fine both in Motion and on RAM Preview (shown on the right) but terrible on export (on the left).
Tried various quality settings and a variety of other things just hoping to stumble into it but coming up dry.
Admitted Motion newbie here so hoping for some wisdom out there. Thanks.

Posting a picture here:

=========================================================
OS 10.14.6, Motion 5.4.4, 2018 Mac mini, 3.2GHz i7, 32 GB RAM, 512 SSD

Return to posts index

Rick Clingman
Re: One of my stock emitters are blurry on export
on Nov 5, 2019 at 7:09:43 pm

Overnight thought of the possibility that Motion 5.4.4 might have something going on with Catalina (not upgraded yet on my Mac mini). So I moved my Motion project to my MBPro which has both Catalina and Motion 5.4.4.
Did an export and STILL blurry!!!!! Arrrrgh.
Tried changing the codec to uncompressed 10-bit 4.2.2 just as a guess. Export looked great. Changed codec to H.264 (which yesterday gave me the blur) and it too looked great. Now I'm in "this doesn't quite make sense" territory.
Do more google searching and find postings about Motion 5 and blurry export problems using Best quality. Go to my desktop and change it to Best quality - blurry; try again with Normal - not blurry. Find a posting that says if you want to use Best quality, use Custom in the Render dialog and turn High quality resampling off. Try it and NO blur!