APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Adding a NEW additional title to an existing scrolling text

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Sherril SchlesingerAdding a NEW additional title to an existing scrolling text
by on Mar 6, 2016 at 7:43:20 pm

Hi,

Does anybody out there have any words of wisdom for me on how to ADD a scrolling title to an already completed end crawl that cannot be redone! I have matched the size and font and found a perfect slot for it BUT I cannot figure out how to make it move smoothly with the original scroll. No matter what I've tried: analyzing, adding match move, imitating source and various other things but the NEW title always wants to drift at a different pace than the original. I just cannot get it to stick in it's "slot".....any ideas would be welcome. I am new to Motion so I'm not even sure if the new text and source should be in the same group or not....I feel like I'm missing something basic and simple....because it's so close!!!

Thanks!

Return to posts index

Andy NeilRe: Adding a NEW additional title to an existing scrolling text
by on Mar 6, 2016 at 10:41:29 pm

By finished you mean that the end credit crawl is a rendered QT movie as opposed to a motion project? If you're dealing with a QT movie, the thing I'd suggest is to use the Throw behavior on your new text. Mark a play range at the point in the credits where your "gap" is. Place your text on top of another credit so you can reliably track the speed it travels. Then adjust the speed of the throw in the behaviors tab until you have it moving at the exact speed as the rest of the credits. Then reposition the text off screen (you may need a little trial and error here too) so it rolls into view like the rest of the credits.

The cool thing about the throw behavior is when you have the velocity set, you can move the text anywhere and it'll still move at the same speed.