APPLE MOTION: Motion Forum Motion Tutorials FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Workflow process for keying: Motion 5, FCPX, Resolve 12

COW Forums : Apple Motion

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael HolmesWorkflow process for keying: Motion 5, FCPX, Resolve 12
by on Dec 1, 2015 at 4:30:55 pm

I am new to Motion, so I have a basic question.
I am working on a scene consisting of four clips shot in front of a green screen, a street scene background jpeg, and an ambience audio track.

I did the following:
- Converted the clips from H264 to ProRes using EditReady
- Imported the clips and jpeg into Motion 5
- Keyed the clips to replace the green screen with the background jpeg
- resized and repositioned the clips as needed to properly size and locate the actors on the background.

At this point, I intended to simply move the project into FCPX (or Resolve 12) to color grade and edit to produce the final product.

Then I found that this can't be done, and I must export the product from Motion 5, then import into FCPX (or Resolve 12).

The problem is, each clip was shot at a different time with different lighting, so each clip needs different color grading treatment. So, I want the clips to remain separate through the color grading process.

I'm now thinking I have to:
- Individually color grade the clips and the jpeg in Resolve 12, then export each
- Import into Motion 5, key and edit, then export
- Import into FCPX (or Resolve 12) for final editing.

This is a lot of importing/exporting. I could avoid it all if I could key in FCPX, but I get better results in Motion 5.

Am I wrong on this? Is there a simpler workflow process?

Return to posts index

Mark SpencerRe: Workflow process for keying: Motion 5, FCPX, Resolve 12
by on Dec 1, 2015 at 5:23:13 pm

The keyer in FCP X is exactly the same keyer in Motion so I don't know why you would get different results.

--
Mark Spencer
Freelance Producer/Editor/Motion Graphics Artist
Apple-certified Master Trainer